Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Dazzling Heights
Cover of The Dazzling Heights
The Dazzling Heights
Borrow Borrow Borrow
The sequel to the New York Times bestselling novel The Thousandth FloorNew York, 2118. Manhattan is home to a thousand-story supertower, a breathtaking marvel that touches the sky. But amidst high-tech...
The sequel to the New York Times bestselling novel The Thousandth FloorNew York, 2118. Manhattan is home to a thousand-story supertower, a breathtaking marvel that touches the sky. But amidst high-tech...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • The sequel to the New York Times bestselling novel The Thousandth Floor

    New York, 2118. Manhattan is home to a thousand-story supertower, a breathtaking marvel that touches the sky. But amidst high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, five teenagers are keeping dangerous secrets...

    LEDA is haunted by memories of what happened on the worst night of her life. She'll do anything to make sure the truth stays hidden—even if it means trusting her enemy.

    WATT just wants to put everything behind him...until Leda forces him to start hacking again. Will he do what it takes to be free of her for good?

    When RYLIN wins a scholarship to an upper-floor school, her life transforms overnight. But being there means seeing the boy whose heart she broke, and who broke hers in return.

    AVERY is tormented by her love for the one person in the world she can never have. She's desperate to be with him... no matter the cost.

    And then there's CALLIOPE, the mysterious, bohemian beauty who arrives in New York determined to cause a stir. And she knows exactly where to begin.

    But unbeknownst to them all, someone is watching their every move, someone with revenge in mind. And in a world of such dazzling heights, just one wrong step can mean a devastating fall.

    Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Big Little Lies, the sumptuous second book in the bestselling Thousandth Floor series has all the drama, romance and hidden secrets that landed the first book in this series at #2 on the New York Times bestseller list!

About the Author-

  • Katharine McGee is from Houston, Texas. She studied English and French literature at Princeton and has an MBA from Stanford. It was during her years living in a second-floor apartment in New York City that she kept daydreaming about skyscrapers . . . and then she started writing. She now lives in Philadelphia. The Thousandth Floor is her first novel and The Dazzling Heights her second.

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    July 1, 2017
    Guilty parties continue to party in this soap-opera sequel.Surrounded by extravagance and futuristic technology, the elite teens of the top floors of the 1,000-story Tower in New York City still manage to be miserable. Vicious and ambitious Leda Cole struggles to conceal her murder of Eris Dodd-Radson by blackmailing her witnesses over their darkest secrets. There's Avery Fuller and her semi-incestuous relationship with her adopted brother, Atlas; hacker Watzahn "Watt" Bakradi and his illegal quantum computer; and scholarship-student Rylin Myers and her criminal ex-boyfriend. Newcomer con artist Calliope Brown and her mother also seek to exploit the richer residents. The economically stratified Tower also seems racially segregated; black Leda fights to overcome her middle-class origins, and lower-floor (and therefore lower-class) Iranian-American Watt and "half-Asian" Rylin falter as foils for the mostly white 1 percent. While the multiplicity of narrators causes tiresome plot repetition, it mimics the self-absorbed world of the Tower's top tier. McGee offers intriguing sci-fi elements--communication-enabling contact lenses, hovercraft, holography--but sacrifices social commentary or dystopian revolution for traditional teenage melodrama. In over 400 pages of dizzying excess and desperate partying, no one cuts through the "Gordian knot of these highliers' screwed-up lives." Readers wanting more substance should seek out J.G. Ballard's High-Rise. Only for avid CW viewers and tabloid-news fans, a shallow yet overlong tale of rich people and their problems. (Dystopian romance. 14-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2017) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist Online "Swift and entertaining. With plentiful chapter hooks and lots of action, this is a great choice for a beach read."
  • Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) "Grabs the reader's attention and never lets go."
  • Cecily von Ziegesar, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Gossip Girl Praise for THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR: "The luxe lives of Manhattan's elite are even more extraordinary in Katharine McGee's futuristic, highly addictive page-turner. The Thousandth Floor will give you vertigo and leave you eager for more."
  • Anna Godbersen, New York Times bestselling author of The Luxe Praise for THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR: "A gleaming future where a dirty secret still has pull on any human heart."
  • Amy Tintera, author of Ruined Praise for THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR: "Compelling and imaginative - I loved everything from the fascinating vision of the future to the scandalous lives of the characters."
  • Publishers Weekly Praise for THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR: "A confident debut, replete with romance, jealousy, and enticing future fashions and tech, McGee's story delivers more than enough drama and excitement to hook readers and leave them anticipating the next book in the trilogy."
  • ALA School Library Journal Praise for THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR: "This will be gobbled up by fans of "Gossip Girl". An excellent hook and familiar tropes make this title a likely hit."
  • Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books Praise for THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR: "McGee has done her work in world building and character development to make a juicy, memorable future that readers will want to revisit."
  • -Seventeen.com "The Thousandth Floor's dizzying sequel is Gossip Girl set in the year 2118 — only juicier. Throw (in) a cast of criminally hot teenagers, mind-bending tech, and a tantalizing forbidden romance... and you get The Dazzling Heights."

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Dazzling Heights
The Dazzling Heights
Katharine McGee
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Dazzling Heights
The Dazzling Heights
Katharine McGee
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by ILC, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close